I’m bitter like an uncured olive

CIMG1772

During a field trip to Duarte Nursery I found some amazing Central Valley Olive trees lining the parking lot. Laden with large fruit never before seen by my coastal Californian eyes. I picked the plump round miracles off the trees like a madman.

When I got home I googled olive curing, found a large jar, put enough salt in it to float an egg, shoved the olives in, and put them in a cupboard. Now I just need to wait! A loooong time.

Speaking of bitter tree crops you have to process, I gathered a few pocketfuls of acorns over at Windrose Farm, ground them in a blender and leached them in the toilet tank.

I boiled them in water for 15 minutes and then put the water and acorn mixture in the freezer.

After a couple of days I took it out and made :

ACORN & EGG BREAKFAST
For this I have on hand cold boiled potatoes. Make
sure the potatoes are cold, if they are warm they’ll
mush.
Sauté 3 Tbs. chopped onion with two chopped cold
potatoes in 2 Tbs. vegetable oil. Add 1/4 cup leached,
cooked, cooled and strained acorns*, and 3-4 beaten
eggs (or egg whites). Mix together then top with
shredded cheese and cover. When cheese is melted
it’s done.
From Acorns and Eat ‘Em by Suellen Ocean.
Cooking the recipe
This was the best breakfast I’ve had in a long time, even from a restaurant! If I were to start a wild foods greasy spoon, this would definitely be a featured menu item! I think I am going to gather acorns for many years to come just so I can make this dish.

Leave a comment